The Daily Record

By havohej

Ambush Lach!

Ambush 'Lach!' (Maximum Voice Production 1994)

Hmmm, not sure about this one. It sounds like it should have been released by Alternative Tentacles, it's got that arty rambling vibe about it. Imagine, if you can, Black Sabbath jamming with Killing Joke whilst watching 'The Wickerman' and listening to Pink Floyd. There's even elements of Anarcho punk in here too, a few bits wouldn't be out of place on 'Penis Envy'. It's really that all over the place with the collective, I'm sure that's how they would refer to themselves, using keyboards, grand piano, cello and didgereedoo ('..a phallus symbol and can be very dangerous..' we are warned!) to add bizarre texture to the more traditional band set up.

It's a very nice package with double gatefold vinyl, a Joe Coleman painting in the interior and a booklet with the lyrics in German and English painted onto various torsos of arty looking goth types. I'm afraid to say the only word I can use, again, is arty.

This is another Missing purchase and I'm pretty sure it was bought on the recommendation of Crazy Colin. The band had played The Tap and made quite an impression, in a similar way to the Breton band Sarah, who had absolutely crushed us all with their intensity. I have no memory of the gig so I probably missed it. If I had seen them I doubt I would have picked this up, unless they were mind blowing, which certainly doesn't translate to record.

Apparently, apart from the reasonably well known Tom Rusnak of Rorschach and Kiss it Goodbye fame, the rest of this band were a bunch of German stoner hippies who went on to record folk songs about Hitler! This band are so strange they should be likeable, but?.

To be brutally honest this is try hard p*sh. My favourite track? 'Silence'. You've guessed it - a whole side of silence. One for the bin, thanks Colin!

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.