Helter-skelter

By Juli

Animal magic!

Went up to Bedford this morning for the Grand Opening of the new pet superstore my children's godmother manages. They'd gone all out to make it a really great event with all sorts going on, from pet portraits and microchipping to facepainting. There was an animal psychologist on hand to offer advice (unfortunately he couldn't help with the kids!) and loads of dogs who were being trained by the charity Canine Partners to give help and companionship to people with disabilities. There was also someone dressed as a rabbit by the entrance and I heard more than one thrilled child saying that they'd met the Easter bunny! The staff were very friendly and they did a wonderful job giving out free samples and vouchers and coped really well with what was a huge crowd. The best bits for my kids, though, had to be when they got to touch a real boa constrictor and pet a meerkat.

We took Blipbear along as, being a bear, we thought he'd enjoy an animal-related trip out. Having told the kids not to touch anything that looked breakable or muck about, Blipbear somehow managed to get himself into a right pickle in one of the cat flaps!

I couldn't really tell him off, though, as in my excitement I very nearly ended up being my friend's first shoplifter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.