Bits of Life Thru A Lens

By KimD

Puzzling

I love this picture. So many reasons ... it reminds me of my brother doing rubix cube ... Nick is soooo like my brother in so many ways...but my brother didn't have youtube to help him out! LOL

But it's more than that. I love how hard working and determined my boy is. He won't sleep until he's solved it.

But it's more than that. See his thumb...this is one of the few times you can see it and really notice it. He lost part of it in a door when he was 2. It was at preschool. I was a teacher at the school and he was back in my care at the moment. I had just turned for a second to make sure the door to the playground was locked. I still have such guilt. I didn't do my job as a mom. I didn't keep my child safe. Logically I get it was a freak accident and I didn't do anything wrong. Logically I get no one would notice if it wasn't pointed out. Emotionally it still kills me that I didn't stop it from happening. I'm his mom. It's my job to keep him safe. I failed.

I love this photo because you can see that it still works. Life goes on. In spite of my mistake, he's okay. He's better than okay - he rocks!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.