A Year Through My Eyes

By egbaldwin

Goodbye Sri Lanka

31.03.12

And so my time in Sri Lanka has come to an end. I've made some friends who I think (hope) I'll stay in touch with for a long time to come. As well as completing the first stop on my epic trip without anything too major going wrong. I think being poorly towards the end was the low point but as nearly everyone dropped with the chesty cough by the end, safe to say it wasn't hayfever but something spread by the air con.

  My day started a lot earlier than planned as my friend Kat was departing for a middle of the night flight and over slept, so at 3.30am  I heard a lot of expletives in German before she flew out the door, thankfully the tut tut had waited an hour for her in the middle of the night! Kinda assuming she made it.....just, as she didn't return to the hotel. 

So after all that early drama I spent the day as predicted doing not a lot but couldn't sleep. I eventually made my way to the airport at 8.30pm  and for the first time in a while got stopped at security.......a highly dangerous (apparently electrical) item was spotted in my hand luggage.......a hair brush! (wasn't brave enough to take a pic of their embarrassed faces) 

So as I'm writing this I'm sitting in a cafe waiting for my flight to Singapore. One observation is how anti social people are! I know I'm sitting here on my iPod but I'm travelling solo, so many people are with their spouse or friends and are sitting tapping away on their phones! Shouldn't be surprised I guess! 

This blip was taken during my day of nothingness, a group of local boys started playing cricket on the beach right in front of me! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.