Windows into my Life

By Tessa

This is not a place for me!

Why do people want to pack themselves into a city. We condense our land, subdivide it up, and when we don't have any more land to splice up we stack ourselves on top of each other.
I wanted to get out of the city to where it was quiet. I had to drive an hour to do it and even then the quiet was interrupted by the highway and a massive train rattling past.
We cant help but co-habitate in such a manner claiming that we do it because community is important, belonging to and partaking in such a thing is human nature... Right?
Isn't it strange then that we build our fences up and we shut our gates and when out in public we are suspicious of our neighbor(especially if they have a camera) keeping our children at arms length at all time.
When I decided to make my way back to the city after taking some lovely photo's I got stuck in nose to tail traffic on a Sunday afternoon.. So this is my blip, not a beautiful swallow of a vibrant flower but a line of traffic stretching on as far as I could see.

While sitting in this stand still traffic I decided that more than ever I NEED to get out of Auckland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.