horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Falling Aboot

Well, today was job-announcement day, and finally at about 4pm I was able to call my boss after a day of a lack of reception. And it was good news on my safety. So why am I feeling so flat? Well there's a certain sense of my position having come at the expense of someone else, and lacking the dog-eat-dog gene I feel monumentally guilty about that. And I'd also convinced myself I wasn't getting the job. That might make most people think I'd therefore be happy at actually being okay, but there's a strange sense of anti-climax to it all after I'd worked out sort-of what I was going to do after hearing the worst.

Does this all make me sound ungrateful? Honestly, I'm genuinely pleased at having some job security inserted into my life for the first time in over a year, it just feels a little... odd.

Anyway. Wildlife day on Lewis and Harris it would seem after a brief frolic by an otter in front of the cottage (I'd decided against a third bike ride in a row after dawning to a grey and windy cold morn); and at the end of the day two Golden Eagles giving us a show on the road to Reinigeadal.

Sandwiched in between we gave Mel's leg a rest from walking and took a drive down to Harris and along the Golden road, looping back up past Luskentyre (and the Hebridean art centre where we partook of some super soup and left with two new pieces of art for the walls at home). Oh, and got some genuine Harris Tweed as well.

Not a bad day all in all. Can't quite believe (or can't face up to the fact) that we've only two full days left...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.