horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Dude!

For the first four days of this week my blips will be brought to you by my phone... There's nothing wrong with the camera, just this is my last week in the office here and I need space in the bags for taking bits and bobs home, and lunchtime wanders are being curtailed by a couple of coffee-meets over the next couple of days, and being out for lunch by my fellow dwindling colleagues on Thursday.

As for the pic, I'm not actually that much of a fan of the Big Lebowski, and in fact I find the Coen Brothers a little hit-and-miss (definitely movies you have to be int he right mood for) but I liked this chalk drawing on the side of a pub that I passed after going to look at some bike frames in a nearby bike shop as possible cracked-frame-replacements. Nothing there really caught my eye, but hey, with more than one bike in the garage I don't need to be in a terrible rush. Much like riding to work this morning, just cruising, paying homage to lurgy, after a restless night punctuated by a couple of weird dreams (one of which involved the Axe Gang from Kung-Fu Hustle which I haven't watched in ages).

In other news an article in the Evening News on plans to put in more speed bumps in the city prompted fury in the comments section directed at... cyclists... Go figure. Last week I stopped at a red alongside another cyclist and heard on person crossing comment to his cohort, "Of course cyclists don't usually stop." Sometimes you've just got to realise you're a hated minority... I can't be bothered wheeling out the killing fields statistics again for motorised traffic, after all, annual death tolls in the thousands are a price worth paying for mobility to the shops and school round the corner aren't they?

Just why do we accept deaths caused by cars as 'one of those things'? Sure there are bad cyclists out there, but they kill approximately 2 people every 3 years. There's something seriously wrong with the moral compass on this.

Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.