horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Cobblers

A large number of these cobbles are, believe it or not, pretty new. Ah, an ode to disappearing skills...

Only two days in this office left till I free. FREEEEEE!!!! They can take our biros, but they can never take our FREEEEEDOM! Excuse me, I feel the desire all of a sudden to get drunk, assault a woman and abuse some Jews... I'll bet William Wallace had nothing on Mel Gibson for belligerence.

Blah.

Er.

Um.

Not much more to say really. Nothing of much consequence or import anyway. I could wander off into a surreal reverie on the benefits of combing your eggs; or the strangely cute offspring of an alligator and a robin; or maybe even the ponderence of how to fit a frog inside a bottle. But nothing, nothing could match, for strangeness, what I heard from our finance manager today.

It pays to remember at the start here that our office is closing, with all but a tiny fraction of the workforce being made redundant, to save money in an organisation that is, quite frankly, going down the pan. Today, when getting the payroll signed by our occasionally-present Edinburgh-based director the Finance Manager was told that the remaining employees are all to get pay rises... More money because, when questioned on why this was the case, some people haven't had a pay rise in a couple of years (make that 3 in my case), and if they didn't get one this year they would walk away... The Finance Manager, at that point, walked away.

Maybe they're spreading about the bonus that I'm giving up for leaving 'early'. And here was me wondering how I give them the £150 I was handing over for some of the office stuff getting sold on eBay... (and yes, I was already keeping a generous cut for myself as a commission...).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.