A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

A Piece of my Past

Aim in life number 14: Go Husky Sledding

It's safe to say that I have a lot of aims in my life about what I want to experience in my future. But remembering the past is important to me aswell, which is why I love photo's so much. You can never relive an experience or a moment again.

I wear two bracelets on my right arm at all times. One is a piece of purple string with a charm of the Eye of Horus attached to it. The Eye of Horus is the Egyptian symbol of protection and it was given to me by my parents when they came back from a holiday there. I have never taken it off since I was given it and I don't think I ever will (I even wore it to Prom). The second bracelet is a friendship bracelet given to me by my flatmate at uni and I attached my old dog's tag to the bracelet recently.

I don't know why, but I have grown attached to the bracelets and now I think I would feel naked without them on. They represent happy memories and special people to me and they each have their own symbolism to me personally.

The Eye of Horus makes me feel like I have my parents with me even when I am homesick in Dundee. The friendship bracelet reminds me that you can find a friend anywhere in the world, no matter how alone you feel and the dog tag reminds me of my childhood.

These bracelets are the equivalent to a safety blanket for me, and I believe everyone has little tokens in their lives that they would feel lost and not themselves if they didn't have them with them or if they could no longer find them.

Then again, that might just be me.

Keep your memories safe,
LaughterLover
xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.