Home

1. About three o'clock I get the word that the keys to my new house - the house I have bought, the place I now own - are ready to collect.

2. It's been a busy day, hot and sunny and lots to do. A major day in the project, a lot of important messages to get out. I knew the keys were coming my way, I just didn't know how and when I would find the time to get them.

3. But it all works out. It always does. On my way out I bump into Michelle and her mum. Just having recently completed a work placement with us she dropped off a jumbo box of chocolates and some fizz. I am delighted she also had her Young Adviosrs application.

4. And so I head off to collect my keys. On the way Steve Wright is in the middle of his golden oldies and something in the combination of the songs, the sunshine and the Friday-ness of it all makes a dent. I start to get very, very excited. I meet mum at the gate and together we open the door. It's huge. It's airy and bright and has views for miles. It's falling to bits and broken. It's squinty and wooden. It's all mine.

5. Not even football traffic and an hour on the motorway ruins my mood. I sprint out of the city to get back to Kirkcudbright. I am there by 10, Liszt for company, the Hungarian Rhapsody as petrol and a sausage supper at the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.