Bellasmama

By Bellasmama

Fish head!

As we were leaving Florida, I wasn't concerned with knick-knacks and souvenirs, I wanted fish! The one thing I love about being in a coastal city or town is the fresh fish that is readily available. We have a good fresh fish store - but you can't always get exactly what you want, and whole fish is harder to come by. So, on our way to the airport I stopped at a fresh fish market and brought home enough fish for 2 meals. Tonight I am preparing mangrove snapper under salt. We always have fish prepared this way when we are in Italy. I have tried it a few different ways and have always been disappointed when it came to removing the crust. My sister-in-law passed on this way to do it, beat 4 egg whites until soft peaks form, fold in 2 cups of kosher salt, prepare fish as desired, and bake in a 450 degree oven for 30-35 minutes. She said that it comes right off the fish. So, I am trying it! Buon appetito!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.