Nora Berghoff

By nberghoff

Preparing for Ike

I wonder what Loulou is thinking....

I do know what the citizens of College Station, TX, were thinking today: prepare for the arrival of hurricane Ike!

While I admit that initially I thought that this was another one "of those" storms where everyone goes crazy and then we get just a bit of rain, I now agree that this one warrants at least some degree of preparation.

It didn't seem all that bad, until I saw a satellite view of this monster. If you haven't looked at it, please do - it is fascinating and scary at the same time - this storm must be one of the biggest ones ever. It covers almost the entire Gulf of Mexico! Of course the picture on this link will change with time (it's live), so depending on when you look at it, it may be different. But it is intimidating, so say the least.

At any rate, it is supposed to sweep directly over our area on Saturday (were about 90 miles north of Houston). Supposedly we will be getting Hurricane strength winds, so we are anticipating some power outages and such.

I have actually gotten some extra water and made sure I had a working flash light. I was going to buy bread, too, but it was sold out...(yes, there was no bread left, nada, tipota, nix).
Then I was going to fill up my gas tank, but the gas station was out of gasoline...
I couldn't get ice either, all sold out.

So my task for tomorrow is to find some ice and, more importantly, gas. Not because I think I need to evacuate....but my car's tank is actually getting low and I am housesitting for a friend this week who lives several miles away, so I need to be able to drive. Should have foreseen this...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.