Mediocrity Photography

By EqoZ

Nothing better than a smile

My girl and I participated in an inner-school martial arts tournament. We both competed in kata, but I wasn't able to take part in the sparring due to some still-healing tendonitis. Bright side of that? I was able to photograph! Even better!

I really wanted to put up a pic of her with her angry eyes on. Heaven knows I have some good ones too. But in the end, this one lucky moment is the winner. I think she and her opponent had just psyched each other out with their simultaneous attacks, stalling each other at the same time as they both switched to defensive postures (honestly I don't recall for sure what had happened, but it seems plausible to me) and in that fleeting moment the game face was dropped and her true personality appeared. I love it.

I'm sure the fact that the opponent is a classmate of ours helped.

In the end, she and I left with a 3rd and 2nd place medal for kata (respectively) and she has a 2nd place trophy for sparring. Not bad for our first tournament, I'm so proud of her.

Of course, the fact that there were only 3 of us in our division (novice, adult) for kata, and only 2 for sparring (her and her opponent) meant that we were guaranteed shiny prizes, but I'm not letting that diminish the mental and physical achievement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.