Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

Harry Potter. OMG.

It's been quite a 24 hours for Betsy and Al (and us). After Grease yesterday, we took them today to see The Making of Harry Potter tour at Leavesden.

It was absolutely amazing - I am a 100% Harry Potter geek, having read all the books to Betsy, then watched all the films with her, and now going through the same again with Al. I wasn't into them at all before, but sharing them with the children has been such a fantastic thing and brought up hundreds of hours of amazing conversations and questions about all sorts of themes and ideas, and I've loved all of it.

The tour (it's not really a tour, you walk around on your own) is fabulous, packed full of sets, props, costumes, wigs (Snapes wig was nearly my blip actually, I love Snape!), models, drawings.....you name it. All presented with such loving care and manned by lovely, open, friendly staff who are quite unfazed by everyone's passionate geekery (I swear I got choked when I saw The Cupboard Under the Stairs and that was just whilst we were waiting to go in!).

If you have even a passing interest in Harry Potter, it's well worth going. But then, as is probably clear by now, I have no critical facility for anything Potter related!

We also watched Chris run the Kingston Breakfast run in the morning - he ran 8 miles in 59 minutes, but you know, whatever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.