Raspberryberet

By AprilJane

Grease is the Word

Betsy's birthday treat - to see Grease the Musical.

Afterwards, Chris and I were wondering why people in musical theatre speak and sing in such peculiar accents. Some of them have amazing voices, but they all sing and speak with a weird twang. I haven't exactly seen a lot of these shows but they seem to all have it - whether they are supposed to be in biblical times or 1950's America. I'm going to see Billy Elliot soon with some friends and I will be fascinated to see if the miners and their children speak like Ethel Merman as it seems everyone else does.

Anyway, Betsy and Al had a great time, they both love the film, as do I. I first saw it in 1979 when I was exactly the age Betsy is now. I didn't understand any of the adult references in it, but I look at her now and can tell she's not missing a single one. I fell in love with everything about that film though, and even today love those songs very, much, they evoke a lot of happy memories.

The children were exhausted when we got home. Tomorrow we are up early again to watch Chris run the Kingson Breakfast Run, and then.........Harry Potter Set Tour! Very excited indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.