Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Spot Copernicus

On the way home from work I was struck by cloud formations around the rising moon in a brilliant blue sky. Unfortunately, by the time I got home the clouds had gone leaving a a wispy haze over the moon. I waited around to see if they came back, but no luck, so decided to simply try a shot of the moon.

I only have a 250mm lens (400mm equivalent on my Canon), so had to crop quite small to get a decent size in frame, and I had a lot of trouble with getting the correct settings - I knew from advice given elsewhere on blipfoto I needed to get around 1/125 speed (can't find the the reference now or I would have linked to them) but the moon kept moving away from the focus point while I wrestled with the theory.

This was pretty well the last shot taken before it all got too much for my poor old head and beyond the limits of my lens without pushing the ISO right up. Still, as a first attempt I'm not too disappointed with it, and will probably have another go when we have a full moon.

Incidently, the title arises from the most prominent feature seen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.