Recipe for Boiled G9

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRGH!

That's better....

Here goes:

----- Original Message ----- From: "me" <me@btinternet.com>
To: <service@lehmannsdirect.co.uk>
Sent: Thursday, September 11, 2008 7:03 PM
Subject: Repair: 261223

I have just received my Canon G9 camera back from you after a recent
repair (dust removal) and have to say I am very disappointed with the
poor condition it is now in. What was a "mint" condition camera with
not one mark on it (see the 1st picture) is now damaged - there are
obvious scratch marks all around the black shiny plastic where "CANON
ZOOM LENS" etc is printed. This area was pristine before but these
marks are now clearly visible to the naked eye, as if a knife or
abrasive material has been near it. I took pictures of the camera
before sending it to you due to my experience with Canon this year,
although obviously hoped I wouldn't need them.

I think it is reasonable expect a camera to be returned in the
condition it was sent, unless such damage or wear is unavoidable due
to the nature of the repair. Given that this was sent to you for dust
removal only from the sensor such damage should be avoidable, and if
not an explanation should be given.

This is my second G9 this year and the first had been repaired twice
to a poor standard by Canon themselves, and this was the reason I
sent this one to you given the promise of "highest standards" etc on
your website. I've completely lost faith in the ability of anybody in
this country to repair a Canon G9 to a fair standard and I've placed
the camera on eBay out of sheer frustration, although the value will
no doubt be affected thanks to the new scratches.

Grateful for your comments.

Me


Response:

Unfortunately your statement of "pristine condition" was not present in your letter to us and therefore cannot be verified. I assure you that we would never return equipment in a worse state than when it was received, but at the same time would expect some usage marks to be present.

Regards

Don Till

Sorry?!?!!?

Response:

Don,

I think the photographs speak volumes, and I am surprised that I am expected to describe the condition of an item to you before repair to ensure it comes back the same. Even day to day usage for a few months didn't result in any marks like these, hence they stand out so much now. I take care of my equipment given the amount I spend on it (I am also the owner of numerous bodies and lenses that also don't have any marks on them) so to receive it back in such condition is so disappointing.

Given that I'm selling the item anyway a simple apology would have been nice but that is obviously not a consideration. A shame as decent customer service is always celebrated by me and I would have gladly recommended you to all and sundry through the numerous forums, blogs and websites I contribute to.

As I've said - very disappointing.

Me


So you now know where to go (in Stoke) if you want your camera repairing and ruining.

(PS. I haven't really boiled it - that would affect the eBay value....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.