Fort House

For today's theme of 'in my neighbourhood', I've chosen a picture of Fort House in its defended splendour. This part of Leith has been through a number of emanations in which, it seems to me, it hasn't often been what most people would regard as a 'good neighbour'. It was originally Leith Fort, built to defend Leith and subsequently used to house French prisoners of war in the Napoleonic Wars. After the second world war, what had become an army barracks was eventually demolished and replaced with what became a housing estate - high rise - which became a byword for crime and anti-social behaviour. This, in turn, will be demolished, after the tenants have been rehoused elsewhere and 140 new homes (social housing) soon built. Presently it is surrounded by fearsome defences - in fact probably more fearsome than when it *was* a fort.

In fact, as always happens, the former residents have mixed feelings about demolition, especially those who spent their entire lives there.

This image is part of a 30 day April Challenge started by some blippers/photographers in Iceland

30 day-challenge:
1. Reflection
2. Mail
3. In my neighbourhood

4. Movement
5. Tiny
6. Shadow
7. In my purse
8. Egg
9. Pattern
10. Dirty
11. Bizarre
12. Window
13. Written words
14. Relaxation
15. Transportation
16. Red
17. The last thing I bought
18. Hair
19. Summer is here!
20. Bottle
21. Before / After
22. Good times
23. Vegetables
24. I'm thankful for...
25. Breakfast
26. A sign
27. Somewhere I went today
28. At 13:00
29. Circle
30. Emotion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.