There and back again

By Mikes

Big Ships

I have just watched a piece of video a friend sent of the Spithead Review of the Fleet for the Queens Coronation. (1953-4) Over 300 ships gathered (I think we have 27 now)

One of the ships featured was HMS Vanguard and a short while ago, one of my daughters gave me this model as a present as I used to make model boats in my youth.

She did not know that as a trainee Royal Marine, I spent some time aboard her undergoing sea training. She was huge, sleeping in hammocks and the heads (toilets) were like lines of horse stables but only waist high. When you sat you were clearly visible from the waist up to all present Very good for the character I expect.

Its funny how something from your past suddenly pops back with a start!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.