horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Head Badges

For leisure
For pleasure
For the work commute

Each one a purpose
And beyond the surface
A beaut

------------

There are actually 7 bikes in the garage, one is Mel's usual bike, and three are restoration jobs (and women's bikes). So these three are mine.

The Cotic Soul is oldest at a little over 4 years, I bought the frame not long after a long term relationship ended. One in which building the bike would have been impossible. I love this bike, it just felt right from day one, and save for the usual chains or tyres wearing out the only parts I've had to change are the bottom bracket, saddle, bars (finally happy with some basic Easton risers), and the rear mech after I mangled it on a rock at a marathon MTB ride. I can't see any need for another mountain bike while I have this.

The Fixie Inc Peacemaker is a German frameset, built into a fixed wheel bike (one gear, no freewheel) and is used virtually every day after replacing a dead skip-rescued fixed wheel conversion that got me into riding them. I built it to sit between a road geometry and the comfy 'chuckable' nature of the Soul, and it performs brilliantly. A little of 3000 miles under the belt since July last year.

The Planet-X Kaffenback is the newest recruit. Again a lovely steel frame (I'm a bit obsessed with steel-framed bikes), and as with the other two another that I bought simply as the frame to build from there. It's already done about 200 miles (including last week's 90 mile Bealach Mor Challenge) and will be doing pedal for Scotland tomorrow. Now shod with a pannier rack and bags for this kind of leisure event, and weekend trips to the farmers market, it's a very definite fast tourer (and my first taste of the joy that is Campagnolo).

Plans are afoot for more next year. I'm missing a pure fast road bike to try out triathlon and/or time trialling (Reynolds 953 Fixie Inc Chip Race is favourite, though I do fancy a custom built Mercian), and a restoration project for myself (Mel's dad told me today of someone he knows with a 1932 Sunbeam that he's looking to move on).

Uneventful day really. Bit of digging in the garden after going to the farmers market, then sorting the Kaff for the ride tomorrow (as well as Mel's and her dad's bikes), fixing a puncture on the Soul, and doing the same on the Peacemaker (as well as cleaning off the accumulated muck of the past couple of weeks wet commute).

I'd say the chances of tomorrow's blip also containing a bike shot are pretty high...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.