horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A 50s Revival

No, I haven't just signed up...

I mentioned yesterday that there was outfit-completing to be done today. We've not quite managed that, but figured I'd blip the pic anyway. We're off on holiday on Saturday, and while the majority of the trip is going to be spent in France, we're stopping off en route with the car at friends in London, and going to the Goodwood Revival a week today. Hence the old-fashioned RAF get-up, and Mel's fabulous 50s style dress (for the record she hates getting her photo taken so it was a bit of a struggle to get this shot and it's why she's looking a bit grumpy - personally I think she looks fab, and she really does have a 1950s figure that makes the most of this).

So busy old day getting a couple of things (including shoes for Mel). I've got a proper black tie and gas mask bag (for the camera - thought the Crumpler might look a little incongruous) and dress belt to finish off my look. Mel has a vintage handbag on its way, and the sunglasses are 50s vintage as well - the dress is a modern 50s style from Vivienne of Holloway (they've got some great stuff). This after a nice breakfast after a longer lie then yesterday, and before some work done in the garden, and I finally sorted the front disc brake on the mountain bike (stuck piston, so unfroze that, bled the brakes and get new pads in).

Four days of work this week, we've both got Friday off to get everything packed and into the car so we can head off without too much trouble on Saturday morning. The laptop will be coming with me for foreign blippage...

But for now I'm off out to get some alcohol to ease through Sunday night with the spectre of Monday growing, and will be ordering the takeaway as soon as I'm back.

Tally ho and chocks away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.