horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Foray

Okay, I really should have blipped some of the mushrooms we saw today, but we were at Glentress and it was another reminder of how long it has been since I've been on the mountain bike (so much so that when I got home I got it out of the garage and started working on the seized piston in the front disc brake).

We were actually off on a 'Fungi Foray' with Valvona and Crolla - picking wild mushrooms, getting them identified by two mycologists, and managing to find enough edible non-deadly stuff to have some mushroom bruschetta at the start of dinner tonight. This was our second such outing and we went with friends Iain and Mary this time round. I think they enjoyed it, though Mary was at a hen do the night before, so the 7.30am start didn't entirely agree with her.

Anyway, piston is still stuck, and bathing in some 3-in-1 tonight, so we'll see what happens. Tomorrow is mapped out with some breakfast, shopping for some outfit-finishing-off-accessories (all will be revealed tomorrow), and a dose of gardening.

In the meantime I can't be bothered with recounting the usual Glentress tales of guys standing round in the car park talking about how well they ride, rather than just getting on the bike and doing it (my brother and I tend to arive, get the bikes out, and set off - maybe we're doing it wrong and should be indulging in narcissistic ramblings first); nor the prevalence of utterly rude people, usually yahs, who seem to think the world revolves around them and that everyone should be happy to put up with them.

Not like me to avoid a rant, I know, but I haven't had much sleep and it's doubtful it would be coherent. So instead I'll leave you with other potential blips:

Now Closed
It Came From Below
Sticking Out Like a Sore Thumb
Considering the 'shroom
Mycologist

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.