There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Bridge and Reflection in the Morning Sun

It's been cool and crisp and sunny almost every morning this week, and Tuesday was no exception.

First thing that morning, I had a routine dentist appointment on the end of town near Boalsburg, and before the appointment, I scheduled myself 15 minutes for a mini photo shoot.

I split that time between the graveyard by an old church, some of its stones so old the words were worn off them (this is also the site with the statue of the three ladies visiting a grave that I have photographed before); and the grounds at the military museum. This photo is among the latter photo set; the military museum itself is outside the frame of this photo to the right.

The grounds of the military museum are lovely and green and peaceful. In spring, flowering trees bloom there, but none were out yet. It's a great place for people to walk, or to bring their dogs for a run. I saw young women pushing babies in strollers, yakking it up in the morning sun and catching some exercise at the same time.

In July, a local arts festival is held on these grounds, and the field is lined with hundreds of booths of artists and their work, along with stands that sell food, and stages set up for local bands to play. It's a quick five-minute walk into the little town of Boalsburg if you prefer to have a sit-down lunch at Duffy's Tavern, on the diamond in Boalsburg.

On a hot and sunny July afternoon, my sisters and I have cooled our feet by wading in the creek that runs beneath this bridge. In fact, after wading in the creek carrying my little niece, who was probably not even one at the time, I tried to climb up the creek bank, the mud gave way, and I almost fell into the creek with her in my arms. (This incident happened just behind and to the left of the bridge.)

Fortunately, one of my sisters was standing behind me, and quickly moving herself between me and the creek, she pushed me and the baby safely up the bank. Nobody was harmed in the incident, but it does get my blood racing a bit to think how close we came to falling in!

As far as the military museum itself, I must admit I've never been inside. I'm a history buff, but not so much for military history. Tanks and various military memorials and pieces of military equipment are strewn about the grounds. It's a bit strange to walk through a pine woods in central Pennsylvania and see a tank sitting there, but in a way, it's also kind of neat, like something made-up, out of a dream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.