Marking Time

By Libra

Octogenarian meets challenge of new technology

Former deep-sea diver John Mauchline has an app on his Apple that allow him to follow the ships that come up the Clyde, which he watches, from his home in Ardoch on the west coast of Scotland.


He demonstrated it to me, along with another app that follows aeroplanes, today in the Glasgow Apple store where we were both in for our Special Projects.


John is a brilliant example of how technology can enhance the lives of older people, and I count myself amongst them.

For John is 82 years of age and is up to speed with all the latest technology and uses his Apple laptop every day.

In the evening he multi task-"I switch between watching television and my laptop."


He used to buy the Glasgow Herald ("when it was called the Glasgow herald, why on earth did they change it?) Now he reads it online along with the New York Times.

He uses the Internet to keep in touch with his family both at home and abroad.
" I am trying to get my wife interested in the ipad but she says she is not interested."

John is a keen gardener and grow his own vegetables.
His task today was burning all his photos on to dvd to share with his family and friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.