Marking Time

By Libra

Launch of CreativeStirling.com

Tonight I attended a special evening within a church in the centre of Stirling.

None of us knew what to expect, but then you never do with "pop-up"art events.

For this was the official launch of CreativeStirling.com with a musical gig, display of photography and a video installation.

And it will operate from premises within Stirling jail offering a series of pop-up events, workshops and training courses as well as studios.

The person behind this innovative venture is Joe Hall who describes her as an arts facilitator.

Before an invited audience of around 100 guests Joe explained her vision- to showcase the best of local talent across all the arts in the area and to run regular workshops and family events.

I am not sure what I expected but I came away pleasantly impressed- maybe this will kick start something really interesting in the area and compliment our annual Forth Valley Open Studios.

Those of us - and there were a few- who were of a certain vintage were somewhat surprised though when the lead singer came around and hugged us all.

Was this normal `I asked my companion.
" I don't know she whispered.
Clearly we have some way to go before we get in touch with youth culture.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.