April Moonset

I nearly missed the moon this morning. It was already low when I looked out. Then I had the frustration of not being able to find a vantage point that didn't have ugly bushes in the way. I'm still hobbling on my sore foot and I couldn't hurry. When I did find a place the moon was so bright and I couldn't get the settings right. This was my best shot. I have reduced the contrast between the moon and the landscape.

This afternoon I sat in the warm sunshine by the big viburnum bushes.  They are well in flower now.  There was a lot of wildlife in them.  I saw six yellow admiral butterflies at one time.   This is unusual. I rarely see more than two at a time. Two were very ragged.  It's a wonder they could fly. The yellow on their wings had faded to pale cream.  Others were pristine and more colourful.

Two were interacting, flying swiftly around each other in small circles, sometimes rising high in the air. Then they landed very close together, paused a moment and separated. Curious, I got up for closer look, but they didn't touch.  As they parted one flew into the arms of a praying mantis, which reacted with fantastic speed.  The butterfly fluttered desperately and got away.  Then I noticed that the mantis already a meal in it's arms.  Lucky for the butterfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.