Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Gluten-free Soda Bread

I did the baking this morning which did not get done yesterday and today's blip shows the Soda Bread made from Kath Gordon's recipe, but adapted for coeliacs.

Instead of 250 grams each of wholemeal and plain flour, I used 250 grams each of Juvela White Mix and Juvela Fibre Mix. I left out the bran flakes and the optional pumpkin seeds and I added two teaspoons of Xanthan Gum. This gum, as well as Guar Gum is used in a lot of recipes for coeliacs and information about it can be found here.

If you are making this recipe for a coeliac there are two other things you need to be aware of, one, you need to make sure that they are allowed oats, not everyone is and two that the oats you use are suitable for coeliacs, again not all of them are. I found my bread took longer to cook than Kath's recipe, but that could be my oven, which is quite old, or it could be because of the gluten-free flours used. Unlike Kath I did not pick at bits of it while it was cooling. Oh no, I cut off two slices, buttered them and me and Mr A ate them while they were still hot!!

While the Soda Bread was cooking I also made a Banana Cake from the BBC Good Food recipe, the only change here was to use Juvela flour as above and instead of all white flour I used 120 grams white and 50 grams fibre mix. I also made a Quick Extra Moist Fruit Cake from my Seriously Good Gluten-free Baking book, by Phil Vickery; the book was a Christmas present from my granddaughter.

I have not made any of these recipes before and only made the banana cake because some of our bananas were overripe. I shall certainly make the soda bread and the fruit cake again although instead of semi-dried cranberries I might use semi-dried blueberries another time.

This afternoon I plan to watch the boat race and maybe Oxford will lose this year, apologies to anyone who supports them, but I was born in Cambridgeshire and visit Cambridge frequently.

There are more pictures of the cakes on Flickr if anyone is interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.