Abandon Hope

Well not, this time, the jaws of hell but a bottle, stamped "HOPE" about to be swallowed up by our new blue recycling bin. I thought that HOPE would be an acronym for some particular kind but a quick web search didn't come up with anything apart from a firm called Hope that manufactures plastics. Other bottles which the council accepts are marked "PET" which indeed does turn out to be an abbreviation for a specific plastic (polyethylene terephthalate) which is used for a lot of drinks bottles.

And according to Dante the full inscription over the entrance to Hell is:-

Through me you pass into the city of woe:
Through me you pass into eternal pain:
Through me among the people lost for aye.
Justice the founder of my fabric moved:
To rear me was the task of Power divine,
Supremest Wisdom, and primeval Love.
Before me things create were none, save things
Eternal, and eternal I endure.
Abandon all hope, ye who enter here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.