earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Descent to Malham

The Big Descent

I wasn't intending to go out on the bike today as the weather forecast wasn't exactly exciting and I thought I'd best crack on with this work I need to do. After lunch, however, I'd hit a bit of a brick wall with a software problem and I thought a quick spin out might unblock me. But just after leaving home the clouds started to break and the sun broke through intermittently, providing the most dramatic light. That encouraged me to go a fair bit further than intended! In the end I went right up the valley to Arncliffe and over the tops to Malham and back via Airton, Winterburn, Hetton and Embsay, about 54 miles, and at a reasonable lick.

I was sorely tempted to post a particular solitary tree shot, which I really love, but this one is more representative of the day, and I actually love this shot too. It gives an idea of the kind of roads I enjoy up here and the sense of the drama of the light this afternoon. The limestone walls catch the sun so beautifully. You can understand what a thrill it is to ride these little lanes, especially these downhill sections with the most wonderful sweeping bends. The road here drops very steeply to Malham. It's quite a technical descent but the visibility is good and there is just one dangerous bend for which you need to slow down. I guess this must be one of my favourite descents in all the Dales, and it certainly helps to know the road.

A number of you were reminded by yesterday's blip of a fairground Helter-Skelter. I must admit that this hadn't occurred to me myself, but it's a fascinating correlation to the name of the hill. I'm sure it must be entirely coincidental, though, the naming of the former surely pre-dating the naming of the hill by a long way, but it's rather lovely all the same. Looking at this picture, it's just occurred to me that it's not unlike being at the top of a helter-skelter!

Thanks to those who offered their own April Fool's stories. I have some more good ones which I might share on a slow news day, but let it be said that my rather wicked sense of humour was not really a contributing factor to the end of my marriage! Actually, S has a far more wicked sense of humour, and has played far worse April Fool's pranks than me, mainly on our poor children! It's a wonder really they've turned out as well as they have!

Thank you all for bearing with me in this rather anti-social period on blip. The hearts and stars and comments for yesterday's blip mean a great deal to me. I suspect I would not have gone as far on the bike if it wasn't down to wanting to blip something striking and hopefully make the time visiting my journal worthwhile. I thank you again for that ... although I'm now a bit behind where I need to be with work. At least I think I'm now unblocked and can see the way forward. You guys are amazing. I will be back to visit before long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.