Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Smelly Dog

Overwhelmed by dog stink right now, sorry.

Today I washed a lot of washing and hoovered up a lot of dog hair and waited to hear from Mum who said she was coming to see us. When Mum says she's coming over she sometimes doesn't. And if she does make it she loses track of time or misses the bus or has a bad night and turns up at teatime.
Today she missed the bus she wanted to catch and ended up walking over! It took her over an hour.

I used to hate having parents who didn't drive when I was a kid but now I'm proud of my green parents - even though it was damned inconvenient at times. I'm often stunned by what people think they deserve or need.

Maybe we should all try and live with a bit of inconvenience and think about how selfish we are sometimes. Especially if convenience means a fucked up planet for our children and grandchildren

It was one of those days where I knew I had to put desk/ computer / office / study / writing-type jobs out of my mind and just concentrate on practical stuff.
I also missed going for a walk, so just before sundown I threw on Richard's (several sizes too big for me) wellies and jumper and thudded up the hill to grab a couple of shots before I read with Tess.

It's good to draw your eyes away from the close up crap and out into the wider world on a regular basis - even if just for a couple of minutes. It helps to keep us from taking ourselves too seriously

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.