Turning Point

By MamaFi

Waiting for waves

I woke up at 6.30am to shrieking. The Two Oceans Marathon runners were being cheered on at the end of our road by well wishers. I decided to join the throng. It was interesting to find such a mix of competitors , not all resembling Zola Budd by any stretch of the imagination. I felt like a fat blob standing there watching and resolved to get fit enough to at least walk it next year, which is what many seemed to be doing.

My dear friend Liz telephoned to ask me across the road as another friend Sarah was there having coffee. I couldn't stay for long as Fizz and I had agreed to go book shopping together and then there was Hamish who we all know just wants to get his wetsuit on and into the water.

It has poured with rain in Cape Town today as was the case last Easter weekend. It may have been an advantage for this morning's runners but certainly not on the beach. After a run for Fizz and a walk for Bow Wow and me, we took shelter at the Knead Bakery. We were in search of a mixed leaf salad and hot cuppa to warm us up.

On the way home we passed our local church to find out what time the family service is at tomorrow. There is a sign against the wall sending out a great message - Love, hope and joyful living! All of the above can be found here. We also stopped off to buy eggs to paint for breakfast.

I spent at least an hour in a lovely hot bath. The first time I've really relaxed since arriving here. The book which I bought today is 'The Language of Flowers' - can't wait to get into my scratcher to read it!


The daughter of one of the ladies who I sat between on the flight over is getting married today. It's such a shame about this rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.