Turning Point

By MamaFi

Tea for two at the Gaslight Cafe

Having Bow Wow back is bringing so much joy! It's obvious that he appreciates the undivided attention he's been getting - who needs the power of speech when you have two ears that move independently and get the same message across?

Fizz and I ate a salad at the Gaslight cafe at Muizenberg while Hamish surfed. I've spent a quite bit of time at this establishment when it's been too wet to stand outside watching H surf. I've been cheating on them since another much more tasteful and hip place opened just a few yards away. I felt guilty about my absence on returning to the Gaslight today after finding the Knead Bakery closed for training. It certainly has atmosphere as you can tell from my blip, but they still insist on using iceberg lettuce which in itself could be a deciding factor. We left clutching take away cups of weak tea to walk with Bow Wow along the beach.

Being Good Friday, Surfer's corner was packed. The crowds thinned as we walked further along the beach but it wasn't ideal with the dog. When we got back to the car I realised my keys were missing and that I must have dropped them. We began to retrace our steps feeling hopeless. After a short distance a man spoke to us about the dog. Felicity mentioned that we had lost our keys, and miraculously, he happened to have them!

We picked up Russ and had supper in the Jonkershuis Restaurant at Groot Constantia. We ate a starter of pickled fish and hot cross buns ( a Good Friday tradition here!) and a variety of Cape Malay dishes. Our waitress was called Actress which I thought must be a talking point for her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.