Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

I look to the heavens...

This blip is of one of the most extrodinary pieces of Art in the National Gallery of Victoria. Since 1970 it has been an integral part of the NGV's physical structure. Suspended 13.7 metres above the gallery floor, the Leonard French creation of a 60.9 x 15.2 metre stained glass ceiling is awe inspiring. It took 5 years to complete, and the 224 triangles of 2.5cm thick primary coloured glass weigh in at 300 kilograms each.

The very best thing about this piece of art is that you are allowed to lay on the floor to look at it ..... for as long as you like! Irrelevant of the weather outside, the day you're having, anything really: It is always spectacular!

I like to think that this ceiling is part of a gaint kaleidoscope designed to remind us that when you've decided there is only one way to look at something ..... change your lighting and perspective - there is so much more to see! This ceiling doesn't go anywhere, it doesn't change structure or alter in any way - yet every time I gaze at it I see something different and my mind is opened to the beauty of new possibilities.

With this in mind, you won't be surprised to know, that when in need of inspiration or when I just want to contemplate the world, I go to the gallery ..... and look to the heavens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.