Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Laugh Out Loud!

So you're thinking.... it's a picture of brightly coloured leaves, sure it's cheery but 'Laugh out Loud'? Let me explain.....

We have just entered week 2 of the Melbourne International Comedy Festival. I was waiting for my comrades in laughter, when I decided to wander into a fashionable laneway. These retailers are quirky and glamorous, they are 'be seen' places that beg attention.

Whilst window shopping, I came across this most amazing display of 'high visability' leaves - perfect for blipping. The retail assistant was in the doorway and curiosity got the better of me. I felt compelled to ask - "Why did you decide to paint the leaves? Why not leave them in their natural autumn state?" He replied, in all seriousness:

"Autumn is not in fashion this season...."

LAUGH OUT LOUD! Now, those people who know me, know that I am prone to being dramatic in such situations and was thus compelled to question (in a ridiculously concerned tone I might add) "Oh my goodness..... has anyone told the trees?" The look of disdain suggested he was not impressed by my response, and doing my very best to keep a straight face, I apologised for my negligent attitude.

I do not fault his response as I am definitely not the target market he had in mind, and if I was his boss, I would be impressed that he took his job so seriously.

The leaves are great and they, combined with my chance encounter, put me in the perfect state of mind for a night at the festival so if anything, I send my retail friend heartfelt thanks and hope that over Easter, he gets the chance to laugh! :)

You've got to love a comedy festival..... :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.