Tattershall

Today Fe and I went to Tattershall Castle and the nearby church (the name of which escapes me). It's actually tragic that I don't recall the name of the church seeing as I consider myself to have a little affinity with it. Inside they serve tea and cakes and have a small sideline selling books and things. It's all very quaint and the small army of volunteers put in a lot of work. The whole set up at Tattershall castle is very nice: the castle itself was saved from ruin by Lord Curzon in the early 1900's and he restored it before handing to the national trust in 1925. The campign to have the monument protected actually triggered a 1913 bill in parliament which started the laws we know today.

Today they had an Easter Egg hunt for the kids as well as people in period costume telling stories and the like. It was a really nice atmosphere topped by the purchase of a book about the shorelines of Britain from the church. They even gave me a free refill on my cup of tea without me asking for it. Next time I go I'm going to take a box of old books for them to sell because I believe very strongly that these people should be helped in their continued quest to keep the church open.

In other news I saw Isaac and Paul at Dads as well. It was brilliant, my nephew is growing so quickly. He came and sat on my knee and gave me a cuddle and it made me quite emotional. He even tried to say my name but eventually gave up and just kept saying 'yeah' over and over.

I've been banging a few back blips on recently as I've been taking some pictures around work. Some of my shots from around work are going to be used in an edition of the Jewson newsletter (south and east branches). It will hit about 25 branchs of ours so maybe it'll reach 300 or so people.

Thanks for stopping by and a big thanks to everyone who commented on my 500th blip a few days ago. One day this internet connection of mine will be sorted and I might get around a few other peoples journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.