Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Grizzly Cactus Flower

It's now officially cactus blooming time in my backyard. I'm so psyched!

I woke up today, opened the blinds on my door and there it was - the first flower of the season on my grizzly prickly pear cactus.

I have three types of prickly pears - grizzly, beavertail and Santa Rita - and they each produce a different color flower.

They really attract bees. Look at how this flower is just loaded with yellow pollen. I won't get any pictures without pollen dominating in them. Allergies are a problem in the desert in the Springtime.

There are a couple of dozen buds on the grizzly this year, so I expect to see a banner season of blooms. But they tend to do so one or two at a time and wilt and die by the next day.

One day wonders. The plight of the prickly pear flowers.

Happy Easter to everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.