The Living Years

By emmaneni1

100

These are definitely not consecutive but I blip promise to try harder.

I have had a very nice and busy Easter Sunday. First of all there was the traditional boiled ham for breakfast. They eat it with horseradish but I was just a bit disappointed that I'd left my jar of piccalilli at home. The easter bunny had left some bits in the garden for us and the English easter bunny had even left a Cadbury's dairy milk egg for L's little brother (my mum!). L and I hadn't managed to save ours for Easter.

We painted eggs in the morning at L's grandparent's, I think his family thought my 100 egg was a little strange. I also made L an egg but he didn't make me one. Before lunch we went outside to see how the apple juice/cider/wine/palinka was going after just over a week One was doing great and tasted delicious like a very light cider the other however was gross. It was bubbling so much and when stirred it stank and sank a good 10/15 cm. We went back after lunch and it had risen back already.

Lunch was hard today, sitting for sometime trying to resist the 8 different types of cakes in front of me. I did it though. I don't know why even I have no self control, even if I don't like it. I was shocked though by one of the cakes, it has an incredibly racist name. I'm often shocked by the different views over here to back home and have to stop myself from getting quite upset.

Got to stroke one of the guinea fowl and they are so soft and such beautiful birds. Unfortunately, one of them will be for lunch tomorrow. I wonder how I will cope with that.

In the afternoon I wrote references for some students, which was a first for me and made me feel very old! People are trusting my opinions to make decisions for their lives! The references were for a summer programme in China and I really hope they get it.

In the evening we went to L's Dad's for dinner starting with some very nice crab apple palinka. The food was different to what I'm used to when I come to L's house, the meat wasn't floating in diabetes and heart disease inducing fat. The food I eat when I come here causes me a lot of concern. We then talked and played uno until it was home time. The second 0 is the bowl of almonds we had to snack on.

Mum made me laugh, she said that she'd seen a sign for an Easter bunny hunt at the big house at Filleigh (I just googled and discovered that it's call Castle Hill, 15 years and I never knew!). Only in Devon would the kids get their guns and go out hunting bunnies for easter!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.