Pagan spring celebration

The tradition here in the Languedoc on Easter Monday is to go out into the garrigue, the wild scrubby land on the hills, to pick wild asparagus, then light a fire and make an omelette with it out of doors. Inclining towards paganism as I do, I like to observe these markers of new seasons and today we were rewarded with a brilliant day of warm spring sunshine. We found these asparagus spears in our garden (although they are wild, not cultivated by us) and the eggs in the village shop (an easy forage there!) and the resulting omelette made a delicious lunch in the dappled light of our garden shelter.

My son gave me a beautiful book for my birthday: The Fragile Feast, in which the photographer Hannah Collins travels to the sources of the ingredients used by well-known Catalan chef Ferran Adrià - seaweed and shell fish in Galicia, citrus fruit near Perpignan, sheep's milk near Girona, soya in Japan, and so on in a collection of writing and images which will inspire me in my food photography. It was good to be able to photograph lunch at the source of at least some of the ingredients today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.