around here somewhere

By thehammerton

Face of the Fair

Today's blip is an odd face I found at the fair which is visiting the town at the moment. I was thinking there'd be plenty of potential for photos amongst the bustle and buzz of the fair, or perhaps later on with some slow exposures catching the rides in action. In fact the fair was almost deserted beneath grey and drizzly skies and definitely not overflowing with photographic opportunities outside of the 'empty fair under grey skies' genre.

This strange character caught my eye when I could only see the back of the head. It stood out from its surroundings, I couldn't say precisely why. The more I looked, the more intrigued I became. What is it meant to be exactly? Why is it still there despite clearly needing a few coats of paint and a new eye? There are probably many prosaic answers to these questions, but they might not be the right ones....

UPDATE 10/04/12: There's an article in the local paper (Shropshire Star) today about my exhibition and this project, with six photos from this collection - I'm really pleased to have so much interest in my photography. If you're looking at this page because you've read the article, thanks for visiting my journal - I hope you like the photos! I post a picture every day so there is always something new to see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.