... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Musical Instruments at the Horniman Museum

Today I visited the Horniman Museum in Forest Hill (South East London) with a friend to look at "The Art of Harmony" which is a temporary exhibition:
"This free exhibition focuses on particular instrument traditions of Western classical music and features some of the finest, rarest and most ornate examples of their types."

We looked first at their permanent collection of musical instruments and then visited the smaller temporary exhibition.
Both collections were displayed in very low light, flash photography and the use of tripods and monopods is not allowed, AND all of the exhibits were behind glass. I set out knowing that I wanted to blip a beautiful instrument, but have to admit that I rather struggled with the conditions...

This horn (cor-solo) leapt out at me in "The Art of Harmony" exhibition partly because it was so beautifully decorated inside its bell (alas, I was less satisfied with that picture), but also because of the way the light played so intriguingly over its elegant curves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.