... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Ghost Herbarium at the Natural History Museum

I've really struggled to decide on which picture to blip today...
I took photographs at the Natural History Museum (South Kensington in London) and also managed to catch the sun going down by St. Paul's Cathedral.

The photographs of the sun over St. Paul's are definitely more spectacular, but I spent most of my day at the museum and feel more warmly about the pictures...

I took this photo in the old General Herbarium: the collection has now been moved into the Darwin Centre (the newest wing of the NHM) so this is now a "ghost" herbarium full only of empty cabinets.
I love the calmness of herbaria; countless cabinets of dry, pressed plant specimens... I thought this photo showed that stillness and the intrigue of closed cupboards, but also the practicality and organisation involved. With so many specimens, the indices are key.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.