seen by highonahill

By highonahill

Facing the music

Highonahill. In the study. With the sheet music.

I am surrounded by musical instruments in here. One mandolin, two guitars, three ukuleles, a keyboard, a saxophone, two recorders and various children's instruments - maracas, whistles and glockenspiels - from the toddler years. A piano and a couple more recorders are in the next room.

This stack of sheet music is mine - mostly musical theatre pieces. The brown leather wallet on top of the stack is filled with piano sheet music from the 1930s that belonged to my grandfather and his brother. On the top because it was used as stage dressing for the play I was in a couple of weeks ago... although I have left out and have been playing some easy pieces that my grandfather was working on as a young boy - one carefully dated in his best handwriting at the top: 18th July 1932!

This stack is just one more thing that's on the list for tidying and sorting. It makes for a more interesting blip than the one you nearly got - a square of my carpet representing the fact that I can see it again after an Easter holiday frenzy of tanks, Lego and other games were spread all over it.

So that's the tidying up done in the rest of the house in readiness for tweenagers to trash it tomorrow for Daughter of Mine's pre-birthday party hangout ('party' is SO not cool) with her friends.

I may just retreat in here to face the music.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.