Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

In Bloom - Nirvana

A day in the house catching up on work that slipped a bit for the most part. I'll get out the house this evening though. It's the first seminar for the new Adobe users group set up by my work. I'm not certain exactly what will go on, but I'll post more details tomorrow if anyone is interested.

Now I'm probably going to open a big can of worms here, but I'm not a huge fan of Nirvana. I quite like Nevermind, and their cover of "Man who sold the world" but Maddy is probably a bigger fan than I am. I just never really got what all the fuss was about. I suppose on the one hand due to Kurt Cobain citing his influences it made bands like the Pixies and Sonic Youth popular with a wider audience than they had been before and that's a good thing, but on the other side of the coin it let major labels get their hooks into what was known as "alternative music". The result is it's harder than ever for new bands along similar lines to the Pixies and Sonic Youth to get any sort of following built up (well it did until the advent of mySpace anyway).

Don't get me wrong, I think Nirvana wrote a few decent tunes, but I wouldn't go out of my way to buy up back catalogue. I also feel they are kind of indirectly responsible for bands like Blink 182, Good Charlotte and the Emo movement all of which seems to me to be a way for the major labels to cash in on teen angst whilst making the whole thing sacharine sweet.

Maybe I'm just an old cynic though. I know from what I've read and seen that Cobain wasn't happy with what the majors were doing to his band and it would have been interesting to see where they would have gone if he hadn't tragically taken his own life.

For the record while I don't mind Nirvana I really can't find anything appealing about the Foo Fighters.

Here's the track.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.