Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Medication - Spiritualized

Out of the options today this seemd the most apt. Then again maybe not as I'm feeling much better today. This will be the last I see of the paracetamol for quite some time hopefully.

This is the only plus side to being ill, that feeling of happiness and relief when you start feeling better.

Now to get started on that backlog of work...

Anyway todays track is by Spiritualized the brainchild of Jason Pierce. A band that I almost let slip by. Pierce was a mamber of Spacemen 3 who I loved. I also really liked the first single by Spiritualized "Anyway that you want me". By the time their first album "Laser guided melodies" came out, however, my musical choices were fairly blinkered by techno. Not that I didn't enjoy other music, but if I had spare cash in my pocket it would always be spent on the latest import 12"from Detroit. It was years later before I got back into them again. In fact I think it was G buying a copy of "Ladies and Gentlemen we are floating in space" that did it.

They are pretty much a natural progreassion from Spacemen 3. Some would say a bit more accessible and a bit mellower but, like this track, they can lull you into a false sense of security. This one starts really mellow then about three minutes in really kicks off.

They are also, in my opinion, responsible for some of the best music pacakging ever. The version of ladies and gentlemen which came in th emedicine style blister pack was excellent, as was the follow up let it come down.

Again this track isn't on youTube, but here's another one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.