Off Centre

By RachelCarter

And the winners are...

Gemma and Tess!
(Or Gardener's Delight and Pomodoro)

The winning seeds germinated and pushed their way into the daylight this morning. Then almost every hour there was a new seedling springing forth. I haven't been so excited since watching chickens' eggs hatch at primary school in about 1976!

Our tomato growing challenge is now well under way and I'm delighted to say I came in third in the shooting competition with my Super Marmande (very mumsie name I think, don't you?) bursting into the light at a very respectable 11am. Mostly delighted that Richard didn't beat me and shout, 'C'mon!' whilst punching the air and looking pleased with himself.
Okay, he wouldn't do that.

He wouldn't dare...

Joel's choice:Golden Sunrise, which is a yellow variety, finally gave forth one laid-back little sprout just before Richard's Ailsa Craig popped up later on this afternoon (fnar!).
So, there you have it, all varieties sprouted 9 days after sowing. And all are back snug and warm in the little room off the kitchen waiting for the warmer weather.

This evening Richard and I went for a walk without a camera (yes, really!) and on our way back Joel phoned to say his sister had stood on a needle and it was stuck in her foot. Without stopping to hear which sister I legged it back to the house and found Gemma sitting at the top of the stairs with a sewing needle sticking out of her foot. She's the 17-year-old - with the always - always very - messy bedroom. She eventually let me pull the needle out and then I sat her down with her foot in a tupperware pot of TCP. (Luckily the needle was sideways in a fleshy part and didn't bleed at all. ) I expect she's worried herself enough to tidy her room now...

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

breathes

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

I had a story idea today and had to bat it away.
I hope it comes back because I reckon it's a goer. Instead I had to try and write an assignment that I've been batting away for about 3 weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.