Northern Star

By Lifferz

Feeling Happy :-)

I just sent a txt to one of my oldest friends and this is the reply I got. I knew I would make him smile and that makes me chuffed to bits.

We have one of those friendships where we have drifted appart over the years a little as we have got on with our own lives and living 150 miles away from each other doesn't help. Last year we went to Bruges/Brussels on a 3 day holiday. We both love travelling. We had such a good time we decided to try really hard to make it a yearly event. This year we planned to go to Bologna but as I struggle to take leave we were fixed to one weekend and the flights were expensive and unhelpful in terms of arriving/departing times. We decided to go somewhere else and Tallinn came up. He could get there fine but I would have had to leave early on Sunday....so much for a long weekend! Tallinn was scrapped.....

In the end we plumped for somewhere he has never been. Our flights arrive within 15 minutes of each other (all going well). I am going to be the unofficial tour guide but will stop short of doing the umbrella with the chiffon in a bow on it thing. I am however tempted to write 'Mr Leigh' on a whiteboard and hold it up at arrivals if I clear baggage collection in time. We have booked some cheap and cheerful accomodation and are having to stay in 2 different places just to keep things cost effective. I have to admit it...I'm feeling very very excited which can only mean one thing.........volcanic ash or strikes! :-\ No I am a glass half full kind of a girl really- honest!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.