Regine

By Regine

Constipating Nijmegen

Another thing that I learned from living in the Randstad is how to walk through a big crowd of commuters without bumping into people all the time.

I remember the day I started my internship in Leiden a few years ago. I took the 'sneltrein' (don't let the name fool you, it is very slow..) from Breda to Leiden. After sitting in a very crowded train for 1,5 hours my legs were a little stiff. Most people, including me, got of the train in Leiden and started walking/running/sprinting towards the exit. It felt like a warzone, I think people could sense I was from Brabant, because they kept hitting me with their bags and kept bumping into me. I had to use my best dance moves to not fall on my face :)

Later I learned that all you have to do is to choose a spot were you want to go and just walk there in a straight line, ignore everyone around you, don't make eye contact with people walking towards you and produce your best evil stare. Nowadays I just wait for all these people to leave the platform (takes a few minutes) and then walk through a almost deserted station to my bike, very relaxed :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.