Live, love, laugh

By Rianka

Panda


Today was the day we were going to pay a visit to the panda's . We being Marlene, Beth, Luca and Annika and me of course.

We met up at the subwaystation, where a group of foreigners asked me all sorts of questions. They had problems with getting a subwaycard and asked my help. I also recommended some shoppingstreets for the girls and we talked about the amusmentparks in Beijing (which we are going to visit next week). It was really funny to experience the fact that I actually know things now about Beijing. Like I have been living here for more than a month (yes, it has been more than a month already).

So we visited the Beijing Zoo. It was really crowded and we tended to lose each other a lot. The day was also a little bit warm, which I didn't really expect. Mix these together with animals in small or not really nice cages and that is the Zoo as I experienced it.
The panda's were the highlight do. They looked so cute, although they were just eating. I am glad we saw them. And I think we had to, because it is just a big part of China and Chinese culture.
During our walk in the Zoo we encountered a lot of animals. The loins, and espially the big rock statue of a lion in front of the actual lionhill, made us start singing 'The Circle of Live' through the park.

Nonetheless, we were quite done with the whole Zoo after a few hours. It was just too crowded and the Chinese people are not particularly kind to the animals (banging the windows, screaming, throwing things and use flash for pictures of night animals).
So after the Zoo and panda visit we went to the shopping mall across the street. Recommended by our Chinese friend. It was like the Silk Market, but then cheaper and less English speakers and thus less annoying. I actually ended up buying nothing for once.

In the late afternoon I went to a park near UIBE with Marlene and Beth, to just enjoy the sun and give our feet a rest. We ate chocolate and chips while discussing China live.
Also we concluded that today.. was not our best day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.