Pics from Zone Flâneur

By paulperton

Make your mind up!

I spotted this sign in the produce market in Stellenbosch this morning. At first, the use of an apostrophe to signify a plural made me want to yell. So much so that I pointed it out to my friend and his wife (an ex-schoolteacher) who made a similar comment to mine.

Then I noticed that while the sign's author has avo's and guava's, he does't have apple's, or naartjie's.

Duh?

Seems the best policy in these cases is to simply shrug it off.

Then I got home and while processing my pic, noticed that while most of the sign is in English some is in Afrikaans. Someone clearly has a bad case of the undecideds today.

BTW, naartjies are tangerines in English and lemoene (believe it or not) are oranges. In Afrikaans, lemons are suurlemoene (sour lemons).

Leica D-LUX 3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.