Swans Swimming

Two swans swimming in the mist towards the Noorder windmill in Groningen, The Netherlands.

When I went to bed last night, I had no intention of getting out early today. Yet, I was awake before six 'o clock and took a peek through the bedroom curtains. There was a beautiful low mist and I decided to get out and go to the Noorder windmill (Noordermolen) to finally capture that windmill in the mist. This had been on my list for quite a while and last time I was there I didn't get what I wanted.

Because I hadn't planned on going out I was actually quite late and I was practically running towards the scene. I got what I wanted within five minutes and then two swans came towards me. They stayed with me for quite some time and were very calm. I decided to take the camera off the tripod and take some heldhand shots. You're looking at one of them.

Five minutes before I took this shot, two women came walking by with their dogs. I couldn't believe what happened then: one of the dogs took a pee right over my camera bag! The bag still smells but that doesn't change my mood after such a fabulous photo shoot this morning!

It took me well over an hour to decide which photo to put up here. With over 100 shots taken this morning, I was very chuffed with the fact that more than ten are keepers. I will need to update my website later and I will probably write a blog entry about it as well. When I get to it, I will update this blip and add a link. In the meantime I'm wishing you all a great weekend!

Even more atmosphere when viewed somewhat bigger.

Update: blog entry with more shots of this morning's sunrise shoot: nothing can change my mood now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.